

NORTH CENTRAL TEXAS EMERGENCY COMMUNICATIONS DISTRICT 9-1-1 BOARD OF MANAGERS MEETING

Minutes – September 2, 2021 9-1-1 Training Center Room A 600 Six Flags Drive Arlington, Texas

President, Roger Deeds called the meeting of the NCT9-1-1 Board of Managers to order at 12:31 PM on September 2, 2021.

Members of the Board Present:

- 1. Roger Deeds President, Sheriff, Hood County
- 2. Hal Richards Secretary, County Judge, Kaufman County
- 3. N. Lane Akin Sheriff, Wise County
- 4. Jennifer Berthiaume Councilmember, City of Murphy
- 5. Danny Chambers County Judge, Somervell County
- 6. Chris Schulmeister Councilmember, City of Allen
- 7. Randy Stinson Commissioner, Ellis County
- 8. Mike White Commissioner, Johnson County

Members of the Board Absent:

- 1. Jeff Hodges Vice-President, Councilmember, City of Prosper
- 2. Jeff Bickerstaff Mayor Pro Tem, City of Sachse
- 3. Matt Coates Sheriff, Erath County
- 4. Kerry Crews Judge (JOP), Hunt County
- 5. Pat Deen County Judge, Parker County
- 6. Frederick Frazier Councilmember, City of McKinney
- 7. Terry Garrett Sheriff, Rockwall County
- 8. Darrell Hale Commissioner, Collin County
- 9. Shane Long County Judge, Palo Pinto County
- 10. Eddie Perry Commissioner, Navarro County

Members of the Staff Present:

- 1. Mike Eastland NCTCOG Executive Director
- 2. Christy Williams Director of NCT9-1-1
- 3. Danette Bradshaw 9-1-1 GIS Specialist III
- 4. Kari Gamez 9-1-1 Sr. Administrative Assistant
- 5. Steven Gorena 9-1-1 Field Support Supervisor
- 6. Ken Kirkpatrick Counsel for NCT9-1-1
- 7. Rodger Mann 9-1-1 GIS Manager
- 8. Norman Marquart NCTCOG Fiscal Manager
- 9. Monte Mercer NCTCOG Deputy Executive Director
- 10. Hilaria Perez 9-1-1 Administrative Program Coordinator
- 11. James Powell Deputy Counsel for NCT9-1-1
- 12. Molly Rendon NCTCOG Director of Administration
- 13. Randy Richardson NCTCOG Fiscal Manager
- 14. LeAnna Russell 9-1-1 Database Manager

- 15. Jessie Shadowens-James 9-1-1 Strategic Services Manager
- 16. Jason Smith 9-1-1 Operations Supervisor

REGULAR SESSION

Action:

Item 1 Approval of June 3, 2021, Minutes

President Roger Deeds stated that the minutes to be approved were from the June 3, 2021, Board meeting.

Attachment A

Upon a motion by Sheriff Lane Akin (seconded by Councilmember Jennifer Berthiaume) and by unanimous vote of all members present, the Board approved the minutes of the June 3, 2021, Board of Managers meeting.

Item 2 Resolution Approving the Fiscal Year 2022 Strategic Plan

NCT9-1-1 develops a strategic plan annually to outline the proposed projects for the upcoming fiscal year, as well as to forecast what projects are anticipated in the proceeding four (4) fiscal years. The strategic plan provides high-level direction for the funding of projects and reflects each of the District's six teams' areas of focus for the five-year period. The District's annual budget is crafted based on the projects supplied in the plan. In accordance with the District's bylaws, the Board of Managers is required to approve an annual strategic plan.

Attachment B

Upon a motion by Judge Hal Richards (seconded by Councilmember Jennifer Berthiaume) and by unanimous vote of all members present, the Board approved the resolution as presented.

Item 3 Resolution Approving the Fiscal Year 2022 Budget and Setting the 9-1-1 Emergency Service Fee

NCT9-1-1, in accordance with requirements outlined in Chapter 772 of the Texas Health and Safety Code, is responsible for administering 9-1-1 service within its service area. Per the District's bylaws, the Board of Managers is required to approve an annual budget, which includes setting the amount of the 9-1-1 emergency service fee. The statute provides the following related to the fee:

- 1. The amount of the fee may not exceed 50 cents per month for each line.
- 2. The fee must have uniform application throughout the District and be imposed in each participating county or municipality in the District.
- 3. The fee may be imposed only on the base rate charge or the charge's equivalent, excluding charges for coin-operated telephone equipment.
- 4. The Board shall set the fee each fiscal year and notify each supplier in the District of any change to the fee by the 91st day after the effective date of the change.

Staff has prepared the FY 2022 budget as contained in Attachment C and recommends the fee amount formerly imposed by CSEC and for FY 2019 - FY 2021 of 50 cents per local exchange access line remain unchanged to meet forecasted expenditures of the District.

Attachment C

Upon a motion by Sheriff Lane Akin (seconded by Councilmember Jennifer Berthiaume) and by unanimous vote of all members present, the Board approved the resolution as presented.

Item 4 Resolution Authorizing a Contract with Mission Critical Partners, LLC, for Public Safety Strategic Consulting

NCT9-1-1 utilizes public safety consultants to complete a variety of projects for the program. Examples include, but are not limited to: network design, contingency planning, equipment installation, contract negotiation, technical requirement writing, and pre-procurement research. These consultants are utilized to supplement in-house expertise and third-party contractors.

In previous years, these consultants have been procured utilizing cooperative purchasing mechanisms such as the Department of Information Resources contracts.

In coordination with NCT9-1-1 Program staff, the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) SHARE cooperative purchasing program conducted a procurement for public safety strategic consulting services. In August 2019, NCTCOG entered into contract #2019-074 with Mission Critical Partners, LLC, as part of its SHARE cooperative purchasing program. NCT9-1-1 is able to utilize this cooperative contract which satisfies local procurement requirements.

Upon a motion by Commissioner Randy Stinson (seconded by Councilmember Jennifer Berthiaume) and by unanimous vote of all members present, the Board approved the resolution as presented.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

Item 5 Quarterly Financial Report

Norman Marquart with NCTCOG presented the Quarterly Financial Report for the period ending June 30, 2021.

Attachment D

Item 6 Director's Report

Accomplishments and Achievements – NCT9-1-1 accomplishments were reviewed for the period June 2021-August 2021. These were included as part of the FY 2022 Strategic Plan.

New Board Member – Jeff Bickerstaff (Mayor Pro Tem, City of Sachse) has been appointed to represent the Dallas County cities on the NCT9-1-1 Board of Managers.

Fee Update – NCT9-1-1 provided information to the 9-1-1 Alliance to help estimate Next Generation costs for future funding opportunities.

Grant Update – NCTCOG applied for a grant that allowed for purchase/reimbursement of items purchased related to the COVID-19 pandemic. NCT9-1-1 was included as part of that application. The grant was approved in August 2021. NCT9-1-1 also plans to work with NCTCOG on submissions to the Build Back Better challenge.

Culture Champion – Danette Bradshaw was chosen as the Culture Champion for NCT9-1-1 for the third quarter of 2021. Danette exhibited the NCT9-1-1 values of heart, commitment, and collaboration.

Attachment E

Quarterly Reporting – Quarterly call statistics are provided to the Board as an attachment for review. Service interruptions during the previous quarter will also be included in this report going forward.

Attachment F

Attendance – Attendance from the previous Board meetings were included for review.

Attachment G

OTHER BUSINESS

Upon a motion by Sheriff Roger Deeds (seconded by Commissioner Randy Stinson) and by unanimous vote of all members present, the meeting was adjourned at 1:25 PM.